Connect with us

Breaking News

South African president Cyril Ramaphosa finally names sixth cabinet

Lebogang Molopo



President Cyril Ramaphosa names cabinet and sends shockwaves. Image

PRETORIA – Although the announcement was delayed, South African President Cyril Ramaphosa eventually named his cabinet on Thursday night at the Union Buildings in Pretoria.

President Ramaphosa reduced the size of his cabinet from 36 all the way to 28 members. He combined several government departments in an aim to scale down the number of ministers. Ramaphosa officially named David Mabuza as his Deputy.

Here is the full list of Ministers and Deputy Ministers:

● Deputy President: David Mabuza

● Minister of Agriculture combined with Land Reform and Rural Development: Thoko Didiza (Deputy Ministers are Sdumo Dlamini and Mcebisi Skwatsha)

● Minister of Basic Education: Angie Motshekga (Deputy Minister is Dr Regina Mhaule)

● Minister of Communications: Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams (Deputy Minister is Pinky Kekana)

● Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma (Deputy Ministers are Parks Tau and Obed Bapela)

● Minister of Defence and Military Veterans: Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula (Deputy Minister is Thabang Makwetla)

● Minister of Environment, Forestry, and Fisheries: Barbara Creecy (Deputy Minister is Maggie Sotyu)

● Minister of Employment and Labour: Thulas Nxesi (Deputy Minister is Boitumelo Moloi)

● Minister of Finance: Tito Mboweni (Deputy Minister is Dr David Masondo)

● Minister of Health: Dr Zwelini Mkhize (Deputy Minister is Dr Joe Phaahla)

● Minister of Higher Education, Science, and Technology: Dr Blade Nzimande (Deputy Minister is Buti Manamela)

● Minister of Home Affairs: Dr Aaron Motsoaledi (Deputy Minister is Njabulo Nzuza)

● Minister of Human Settlements, Water, and Sanitation: Lindiwe Sisulu (Deputy Ministers are Pam Tshwete and David Mahlobo)

● Minister of International Relations and Cooperation: Dr Naledi Pandor (Deputy Ministers are Alvin Botes and Candith Mashego-Dlamini)

● Minister of Justice and Correctional Services: Ronald Lamola (Deputy Ministers are John Jeffery and Inkosi Phathekile Holomisa)

● Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy: Gwede Mantashe (Deputy Minister is Bavelile Hlongwa)

● Minister of Police: General Bheki Cele (Deputy Minister is Cassel Mathale)

● Minister in the Presidency: Jackson Mthembu (Deputy Minister in the Presidency is Thembi Siweya)

● Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities: Maite Nkoana-Mashabane (The Deputy Minister is Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize)

● Minister of Public Enterprises: Pravin Gordhan (Deputy Minister is Phumulo Masualle)

● Minister of Public Service and Administration: Senzo Mchunu (Deputy Minister is Sindy Chikunga)

● Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure: Patricia De Lille (Deputy Minister is Noxolo Kiviet)

● Minister of Small Business Development: Khumbudzo Ntshavheni (Deputy Minister is Rosemary Capa)

● Minister of Social Development: Lindiwe Zulu (Deputy Minister is Henrietta Bogopane-Zulu)

● Minister of Sports, Arts, and Culture: Nathi Mthethwa (Deputy Minister is Nocawe Mafu)

● Minister of State Security is Ayanda Dlodlo (Deputy Minister is Zizi Kodwa)

● Minister of Tourism: Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane (Deputy Minister is Fish Mahlalela)

● Minister of Trade and Industry: Ebrahim Patel (Deputy Ministers are Fikile Majola and Nomalungelo Gina)

● Minister of Transport is Fikile Mbalula and his Deputy Minister is Dikeledi Magadzi

Despite the move to reduce the cabinet and having a 50% representation from women, the cabinet announcement received mixed responses from the public and other party members.

According to a number of opposition parties, the most shocking revelation was the return of Fikile Mbalula and Patricia De Lille being named as the minister of Public Works and Infrastructure.

The sixth cabinet is diverse, it consists of both the youth and old, men and women whilst also having members from different parties, thus giving different parties a fair representation.

Speaking to Thobela FM, a seasoned trade unionist Zwelinzima Vavi, said that as long as the cabinet still implements policies that have failed the poor then South Africa is not going anywhere.

“We’re not happy. As long as the mandate is still the same as that of Nelson Mandela and Thabo Mbeki,” reacted Vavi. Zwelinzima Vavi is the former general secretary of the Congress of South African Trade Unions, and vice-chairperson of the Millennium Labour Council.

Despite criticism from many politicians and trade unionists such as Vavi, the Rand reacted positively as it is now at R14.64 as it stands this morning.

I'm a 26-year-old writer from Pretoria,South Africa. I studied Journalism and enjoy doing features and hard news. I love reading and hope to one day write and publish my own book.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *